Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Facebook users, beware!

I'm not sure this is new, but it's dangerous!

Email scam targets Facebook users: Web security firm - Yahoo! Canada News

Essentially, you get an email that looks like it's from Facebook. It tells you your password has been reset and you need to click on an attached file to retrieve it.

We all know NEVER to click on an attached file unless we know what it is, right? (And by "know what it is", I mean we know who sent it AND we were expecting to receive something from that person. If the other person's computer has a virus, they might send you a file accidentally.)

I figure we all know. But this also seems like a good time to remind you. :)

1 comment:

Sundee said...

If you receive a warning and are unsure if it is true or not check it out at www.snopes.com. I've attached a link to just what you were talking about. Appears to be true!
http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/facebook.asp

Finishing up Life, Love and a Polar Bear Tattoo. Thanks for making that free. I downloaded it to my Nook. I have really enjoyed it and will be sure to keep my eye on your work. I'm getting ready to download Go Small or Go Home. I like your writing style. I'm glad Candice is staying with Ian. Keep up the good work!

Sundee

Post a Comment